Editorial advisory group

WA DEFENCE REVIEW is grateful for the support of the following distinguished senior professionals who kindly provide advice and guidance as part of our esteemed Editorial Advisory Group. As experts in their fields, their industry-leading qualifications and knowledge plays a valued role in contributing to WA DEFENCE REVIEW’s mission to bring an independent, yet WA-focused, perspective to military, strategic and defence industry issues at the state, national and international levels.

Guiding perspectives and trusted industry expertise providing depth of knowledge and valued advice.


RADM Raydon W Gates AO CSM (Rtd)

WA Defence Advocate (2017-21)


Professor Peter Leahy AC, LTGEN (Rtd)

Foundation Director, National Security Institute, University of Canberra and Chief of Army (2002-08)


AIRMSHL Geoff Brown AO (Rtd)

Chair, Sir Richard Williams Foundation and Chief of Air Force (2011-15)


Dr Stephanie Koorey

Managing Consultant, OCRT


Tamryn Barker

Co-founder and Director CORE Innovation Hub and founder Perth Space Hub


Jonathan Smith

Senior Defence and Industry Advisor and Former General Manager, Australian Marine Complex – Common User Facility (2010-21)


Colleen Yates

CEO, Regional Development Australia - Perth and Director, Henderson Alliance


Dr Gregor Ferguson

Senior Defence Industry Analyst and Commentator


Dr Carla Boehl

Chair, Asset Management Council and Non-Executive Director, Water Corporation


Tony Marceddo

Director, Securing Digital Futures and Defence Research & Engagement Edith Cowan University

Colin McIvor neutral

Dr Colin McIvor

Cluster Manager, Subsea Innovation Cluster Australia


Greg Salotti

Senior Defence Industry Advisor and former Defence Innovation Manager, Centre for Defence Industry Capability


Paul Stone

Executive Director, EDG Australia, Part President and Life Member of the Energy Club WA, and Vice Chair of Subsea Energy Australia.


Peter Kasprzak

Co-founder and Director, Innovate Australia and Co-founder and Director, Hydrogen Society of Australia


Professor Michael Evans

General Sir Francis Hassett Chair of Military Studies, Australian Defence College


Jillian Formentin

Engineering Director, Clough Congress and WA Division Committee Member, Engineers Australia


Terry van Haren DSM, AIRCDRE (Rtd)

Managing Director, LeoLabs Australia and former RAAF Air and Space Attaché to the United States in Washington DC (2018-20)

Ian Martinus

Dr Ian Martinus

Change Management Specialist, World Bank and former Director, WA AustCyber Innovation Hub


Dr Nick D’Adamo

Adjunct Member, Oceans Institute, University of Western Australia


Andrew Hornby

Senior Fellow, LNG Marine Fuel Institute and Governor Energy Club WA


Professor Sascha Dominik Bachman

University of Canberra & Co-convenor, National Security Hub


Dr Claude Rakisits

Honorary Associate Professor at ANU Asia Pacific College of Diplomacy

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

By subscribing you agree to receive news, offers and information from WA DEFENCE REVIEW.